July Traffic Report 2019
Happy 4th of July and Welcome Summer!
Yes, it is hot but the water is clearer and it is time to enjoy our area rivers and ocean. And there is no snow in the forecast.
But please, be safe out there.
Yes we want to talk about boat sales and how your boat is attracting potential buyers, but first I want to share some startling statistic regarding boating accidents and fatalities.
(WWSB) - Florida recorded 628 boating accidents in 2018, down 18 percent from a year earlier, according to a recent report by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. Additionally, there were 59 boating-related deaths, which was also a decrease.
FWC says its “2018 Boating Accident Statistical Report” is used to encourage boaters to focus on simple, effective steps to make the hobby safer. People falling overboard continues to be the leading type of fatal accident, according to the report.
Drowning is the leading cause of death. FWC spokesperson Bekah Nelson says most accidents and injuries could be prevented if boaters pay attention to their surroundings and use basic safety measures, especially as Florida’s waterways get busier.
Nearly 30 percent of the 2018 accidents involved collisions between vessels.
Florida leads the nation, with more than 950 thousand registered vessels in the state.
(Copyright 2019 WWSB. All rights reserved.)
I do not want to be a buzz kill but as Ed Killer says, “one boating accident or fatality is too much.” He suggests:
1) wear a life jacket
2) post a lookout
3) file a float plan
4) get educated
With today being the Fourth of July and a lot of people on the water, Manatee Pocket Yacht Sales wants to urge everyone to practice both defensive driving and awareness on the water.
Having your life vest on the boat is not helpful if they are stored under a seat or down in the cuddy or even in a fish box.
- Wear personal flotation device
- Have a “designated driver”
- Carry required Coast Guard Safety Equipment on your vessel
- Be aware! Especially of your speed and that of others
There are of course, many other important factors to consider when boating.
Florida law requires anyone born on or after January 1, 1988, who operates a vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more must pass an approved boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boater safety identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
Florida does not have a "boating license." The Boating Safety Education Identification Card is proof of successful completion of the educational requirements and is valid for life.
For more information on boating safety contact:
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
620 S. Meridian Rd. Tallahassee, Florida 32399
Yes, we are busy selling boats.
And, celebrating our first sale of a 76’ Yacht. Our current client is upgrading from his 40 foot Cruiser to his new Lazzara 76. It was certainly a lot of fun helping him find his dream boat.
We sold 7 boats in June and have 10 boats under contract including several boats that we just listed.
If the boat is priced to sell there a plenty of buyers. As usual, everyone still wants the best deal possible. It comes down to the perceived value buyers have of the boat they are buying.
Best to you,
Licensed Florida Yacht Broker